bpv3-pcb

Hack a Day had a thread discussing why hacking site comments are so harsh. That got us thinking about all the groans we hear about Arduino projects. We asked you to rant pro- or con- Arduino, the winners are after the break. We came to this conclusion: geeks don’t hate Arduino, it’s just another case of tech blogs attracting aggressive comments.

All the comments were great. We picked two winners who’ll get a Bus Pirate v3 PCB.

Marc described the Arduino as a Marmite scenario:

I love Marmite senarios. Are there anybody who’re just not fussed about that stuff? A kinda, well, I’d prefer it wasn’t on my toast, but I’m won’t run screaming if it is.

I have a microsoft-like opinion of the Arduino.

I haven’t owned one long, and have not had the time to put it to much use yet. I love that it’s unbelieveably well supported, its open to new uses and variations, it’s not hindered by corporate greed or desire for control of ideas. I love that the language is simplified and presented in almost-english. I love the community it spawned and the number of people who have been able to do things with it they wouldn’t have had the knowledge or support for otherwise. And I love that it’s something I can one day give to youngsters to help them learn about and develop a passion for electronics.

I hate it because I worry that if I get too deep into it, I will be unable to develop the skills in ‘proper’ C I’m learning at Uni. I hate that it’s furthering the idea that so many engineers tie themselves to one type of manufacturer or family when theres so many other useful chips, many that could do even better. I hate that it’s simplified C is trapped in Atmel AVRs, and that no-one seems to be looking at how to port it to chips by companies such as Freescale, the company my university is attempting to tie me to.

And I hate that I could never have thought of such a great idea…

We also liked Brett’s ode to the Arduino, don’t miss his project blog:

The bottom line is that despite any shortcomings (non-standard spacing pinout?!), it’s one of the most heavily supported pieces of hardware out there. Whatever chip or piece of hardware you want to interface it with, someone has already done it and there’s a tutorial or even a library for it. That may make it seem like a piece of hardware for noobs, but really, we all need some help sometimes. And why spend time reinventing the wheel if someone’s already done it (unless you really want to figure it out yourself).

Thank you for participating. We’ll give away more prototype PCBs every Sunday.

